Community Health Needs Assessment: Overview


Community Health Needs Assessment

Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital
As part of the Affordable Care Act, non-profit hospitals complete a Community Needs Health Assessment every three years. Hospitals must collect input from the community, adopt a plan to address community needs and then report on these activities.

In 2015, a comprehensive, six‐step community health needs assessment (“CHNA”) collaboration was conducted for HealthPartners and its hospitals (Regions Hospital, Lakeview Hospital, Hudson Hospital & Clinic, Westfields Hospital & Clinic, Amery Hospital & Clinic, and Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital) by Community Hospital Consulting. The CHNA utilized relevant health data and stakeholder input to identify the significant community health needs. These hospitals serve similar communities and have overlapping study areas. The system’s study area is defined as Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties in Minnesota and Polk and St. Croix Counties in Wisconsin.

Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital’s specific study area is defined as Hennepin, Dakota and Scott counties, but health data for the remaining counties are used for comparison in this CHNA.

The final list of prioritized needs, in descending order, is listed below:

  • Mental health
  • Access and affordability
  • Chronic disease and illness prevention
  • Equitable care

Responses to these priority areas are included in Park Nicollet Health Services’ Implementation Strategy for years 2016 through 2018. In 2018, the next CHNA will be performed and implementation strategy for 2018-2020 will be developed. For more information, contact Libby Lincoln at or 952-993-7130.